I Wish I Was A Mountain

Created at the egg Incubator. Co-Produced by the egg and Travelling Light Theatre Company. Presented on tour in Wales by Theatr Iolo

On the day of the famous annual fair, the town of Faldum receives an unexpected visit. A wanderer offers to grant a wish to anyone who wants one. Before long, the city is transformed. Mansions stand where mud huts once squatted, and beggars ride around in horse drawn carriages. And one man wishes to be turned into a mountain.

Written and performed by former Glastonbury Poetry Slam Champion Toby Thompson, I Wish I Was a Mountain uses rhyme, live music, and just a smattering of metaphysical philosophy to boldly reimagine Hermann Hesse’s classic fairy-tale.

Do we really need the things that we need? What do mountains feel? How did time begin?

Adults are kindly requested to leave all answers to these questions at the door. Children, come as you are.


Watch the trailer:


Creative Team:

I Wish I Was a Mountain currently being booked by venues for a Welsh tour in Autumn 2019.

Email: michelle@theatriolo.com to find out more.

Download the Tour Pack

Written and Performed by: Toby Thompson

Direction and Dramaturgy by: Lee Lyford

Designed by: Anisha Fields


Dates Times Venue Box Office Book Online
Sun 13.10.19 4pm Welfare, Ystradgynlais 01639 843163 Book Now
Tues 15.10.19 10.30am Borough Theatre, Abergavenny 01873 850805 Book Now
Fri 18.10.19 1.30pm & 7.30pm Strike a Light Festival, Gloucester info@strikealightfestival.org.uk Book Now
Tues 29.10.19 11am Wales Millennium Centre, Cardiff 029 2063 6464 Book Now
Wed 30.10.19 11am Wales Millennium Centre, Cardiff 029 2063 6464 Book Now
Thurs 31.10.19 11am Wales Millennium Centre, Cardiff 029 2063 6464 Book Now
Fri 1.11.19 11am Wales Millennium Centre, Cardiff 029 2063 6464 Book Now
Sun 3.11.19 2pm & 4.30pm Aberystwyth Arts Centre, Aberystwyth 01970 623232 Book Now
Tues 5.11.19 10.30am Theatr Hafren, Newtown 01686 614555 Book Now
Wed 6.11.19 11am & 6pm Swansea Grand Theatre Arts Wing 01792 475715 Book Now
Fri 8.11.19 10am & 2pm Theatr Brycheiniog, Brecon 01874 611622 Book Now